Reviews

Lake Erie Toolworks - Reviews and Testimonials

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's what the industry and end users are saying about Lake Erie Toolworks

 Chris Schwarz - Editor "Lost Art Press" - Nick is the wood-machining genius behind Lake Erie Toolworks, which makes stunning wooden-thread vises. I have installed dozens of his vises on benches and have one on my Roubo. Nick’s wooden screws are the best – better than even the best vintage screws I’ve encountered.
Frank Klausz - Master Woodworker / Teacher - The best screw I've ever seen. This is it. This is how you clamp wood - It works.  Why would you want anything else?
Jameel Abraham - "Benchcrafted" - Nick did an absolutely outstanding job. I don't think it would be physically possible to do cleaner work than what Nick has pulled off. These screws are a work of craftsmanship of the highest order. (With reference to French Oak Roubo Vises)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ernie Conover - Master Woodworker, Teacher & Lathe Expert - Lake Erie Toolworks Shop Visit & Video Review For ClampGAUGEs - June 2017

Lake Erie Toolworks, ClampGAUGE, Wooden Vise

ClampGAUGE, Lake Erie Toolworks, Ernie Conover

The ClampGAUGE System is absolutely a great product! 

Ernie Conover - Master Woodworker / Teacher / Lathe Expert
Lake Erie Toolworks Shop Visit - Erie, PA - April 26, 2017

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moxon Vise Tool Review - Fine Woodworking -  No. 261 - June 2017

"Photo courtesy of Fine Woodworking Magazine"

Overall, it's a great vise, and would be a wonderful aid to any woodworker whose bench has only a cast-iron (or similar) face vise, or a leg vise.

Matt Kenney - Special Projects Editor & Co-Host of FWW's podcast - Shop Talk Live
Fine Woodworking Magazine – June 2017

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moxon Vise Tool Review - Australian Wood Review - Issue 92 - September 2016

Lake Erie Toolworks Moxon Vise

"Photo courtesy of Australian Wood Review"

The handles are the big feature, beautifully made with three and a half threads per inch. When you see them you just have to touch them.

Raf Nathan
Australian Wood Review - Issue 92 - September 2016 Issue


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moxon Vise Tool Review - Popular Woodworking - August 2016 Issue


Lake Erie Toolworks; Moxon Vise; Wood Vise

"Photos courtesy of Popular Woodworking Magazine"

This well-machined workholding device is easy to assemble and is solid.

Megan Fitzpatrick – Editor
Popular Woodworking Magazine – August 2016 Issue


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Chris Schwarz Blog - Featuring our New Moxon Vise - August, 6, 2015

Nick is the wood-machining genius behind Lake Erie Toolworks, which makes stunning wooden-thread vises. I have installed dozens of his vises on benches and have one on my Roubo. Nick’s wooden screws are the best – better than even the best vintage screws I’ve encountered.

 



"Photo courtesy of Chris Schwarz Blog"


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Jameel Abraham - Owner "Benchcrafted" - June 22, 2015

We recommend you contact Nick at Lake Erie Toolworks, who makes the best quality wood threads in the world.

(Relating to Benchcrafted's blog post about the La Forge Royale Miter Vise)

 

Nick did an absolutely outstanding job. I don't think it would be physically possible to do cleaner work than what Nick has pulled off. These screws are a work of craftsmanship of the highest order. Even the terminus of the thread, as it tapers off to nothing near the head, is flawless. It's a beautiful detail that will be unfortunately hidden in the chop once the vise is installed.

 (Relating to Benchcrafted's blog post about the French Oak Roubo Leg Vises)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Mark Harrell - Owner Bad Axe Tool Works - January 24, 2014

What is it about big wooden shoulder vises I like so much? I'll tell you what: durability, permanence, craft. Nick Dombrowski makes a helluva product via Lake Erie Toolworks. Great stuff.

 



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mark Harrell - Owner Bad Axe Tool Works - November 15, 2013

Nick’s vise screws and associated mounting hardware just reek of quality – not to mention the robust look of a vintage wood screw threaded directly through the leg of my bench. It’s a grounding sight, reminding me of the local Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired prairie style architecture around the La Crosse, (Wisconsin area). Like good architecture, Nick’s offerings to the market evoke the same organic, solid vibe of stability and permanence.

 


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vise Screw & Handle - Popular Woodworking Magazine - April 2013 Issue

               

"Photos courtesy of Popular Woodworking Magazine"

I personally prefer the Lake Erie screw. Its fit and finish are the tops, but that’s not the sole reason that I love it. The two ends of the tommy bar are threaded onto the bar. That sounds minor, but if you have built as many workbenches as me, then you know that this is a weak point of almost every vise design. The ends come off and the tommy bar falls to the floor. Lake Erie is the only company that has conquered this frustration.

Christopher Schwarz – Editor – Lost Art Press
Popular Woodworking Magazine – April 2013 Issue

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Chris Schwarz Blog - Featuring our Wagon Vise - October, 15 2012

 



"Photo courtesy of Chris Schwarz Blog"


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frank Klausz - Master Woodworker and Dovetail Expert - Giving a Thumbs Up to Lake Erie Toolworks Shoulder Vises - November 3, 2012

 



The best screw I've ever seen. This is it. This is how you clamp wood - It works.  Why would you want anything else?

Frank Klausz - Master Woodworker / Cabinet Maker
Woodworking In America 2012 Conference - Cincinnati, Ohio - November 3, 2012


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Woodworking Spotlight - "Tom' s Workbench" - by Tom Iovino
November 9, 2012  and  November 9, 2009

 



"Photo courtesy of Tom's Workbench Blog"


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lake Erie Toolworks Premium Vise Screw Kit featured on the cover of the "Workbench Design Book" by Christopher Schwarz

 



"Photo courtesy of Shop Woodworking / Christopher Schwarz"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christopher Schwarz has built a New Roubo Workbench that features Lake Erie Toolworks Premium Wood Vise Screw kit - Popular Woodworking Magazine - August 2010 Issue

 

 

"Photo courtesy of Popular Woodworking Magazine"
 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christopher Schwarz Review on Lake Erie Toolworks - December 9, 2009
 

 

"Photo by Woodworking Magazine, used with permission"


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Nick,

The 2 basic kits I received yesterday are akin to functional art. Material and workmanship are of the highest quality. Until one sees in person what you do, they are missing out on the full experience. I am very pleased and again say a hearty "thanks".

I have looked both units over and easily see the quality in your choice of materials, the workmanship, and how they interface. I read the specs and compared your look to the competitions many times before deciding. I really was not prepared for how massive they are and how finely made they are compared to what I expected.

The easiest thing to sell is that which you believe in without reservation. I have no reservations about how I appreciate your products.

All the best for you and your business,
Rick M.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Nick,

Just got the screw today and it looks great! Thanks for doing such a nice job on it, you truly have a world class product. Can't wait to install it.

Thanks again
Brad


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey Nick

Just wanted to say Thank You so much. Everything arrived today and it all looks magnificent! Beautiful workmanship. You should be very proud of what you're creating.

I'm really impressed with the vises you made. So damn happy I chose your wood screw vises over the steel kits that are out there. Really looking forward to completing my build and hope that you'll entertain a few photos of this bench when it's finished.

Thanks Nick, Chat soon,

Andy H.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good Day Nick,

As always your vise screws are a dream to use. This is the first time I have installed one of your wagon vises and the closest I can come to a complaint is that the 2 TPI is almost too aggressive. It isn’t but, it’s close. I have a class building full sized benches currently running. All the people in the class elected to go with your wagon vise screw. I’ll send pictures of the benches when they are finished. One guy is actually building his bench with a tool tray!!! Despite my predictions of dire consequences should he do so! The 3 benches are quite different and will make great benches and, hopefully, bring their owners many years of satisfaction.

quietly woodworking,
Duncan Robertson


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nick,

Got the four vises last week. As advertised, the vises are gorgeous. The hard maple threads are perfect. I am glad you convinced me not to fool around with other woods.

Dick


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The wagon vise is smooth as silk. Even my wife was impressed how easily it moved.

Robert P.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nick,

My vise screw arrived safe and well today. Well impressed with the delivery speed, and simply blown away with the beauty of your product. The threads are superbly cut and extremely crisp, the fit is excellent, no slop what so ever. The end grain is cleanly cut and the overall finished surface immaculate. The packaging was excellent and the only suggestion I might make to improve the level of protection is this. A piece of bubble wrap between the nut block and the end of the screw would eliminate any chance of marking the nut and the end of the thread. (Note: All new vise shipments now have this extra bit of packaging for added protection – Nick D.)

I will be placing a review on a woodworking forum I belong to here in Australia which can be found at http://www.woodworkforums.com and I will be titling the thread within the product reviews sub forum "Lake Erie Vise Screw".

Thank you for such excellent service and a well made product.

Ray W. (Australia)


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received my new screw today. it is wonderful! It is nice to see craftsmanship like that, it is a rare thing these days.

Thanks,
Will M.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have received the screws and they are awesome!!! I spend most of my time just winding them in and out. They should suit perfectly.

Ryan B. (Australia)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received my vice Screw and parts yesterday. They are perfect. I thank you. I am a metal machinist and I never thought wood could be machined to look and work as good as these vise screws your Company makes. I am more than pleased with the one I bought.

Jim C.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The vise screw arrived today. You must be proud of making such a beautiful thing. I will use it to make a leg vise like the one Christopher Schwarz made for his Roubo workbench. I'll send you a picture when it's finished.

Charles S.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nick,
Quick email to let you know that my screw kit was delivered on Thursday; first impressions - fantastic! Had very favorable comments from others at the workshop. I've given the threaded parts several coats of Danish in accordance with the instructions on the website, it'll get another couple of coats before waxing. I decided to wax the hub and handle to keep the light color of the maple and be a closer match to the bench top which most likely left unfinished. Lots of work to be done before I start on the tail vise. I'll blog a photo of the screw now that it has been given some finish and be in touch when I start work on the tail vise.

Regards,
John T. (England)


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received my order on Wednesday and got my vise screw installed this weekend. I'm very happy with your product. The price was awesome and your product is excellent in both design and execution. Before installing it, I put two coats of a BLO/poly/mineral spirit mixture that I use on all of my products. The end-grain of the threads soaked it up quickly while the surfaces on the hub built up nicely. Attached are some pics of my installation. I didn't use an interior or exterior garter -- sort of a pseudo-interior garter. I had some dowel stock that fit your garter groove nicely. I drilled a hole on either side of my chop to receive the dowel in line with the garter groove. It works nicely.

Regards,
Dave B.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your Moxon vise is tougher than a Maine boiled owl!!! Nice work.

Daniel C. - Naples, Maine